Cooperative Learning Networks

NSAC provides accounting, tax and business education uniquely tailored to cooperatives. Our Cooperative Learning Networks (CLNs) are webinars that cover a variety of topics of interest to our members presented by experts in the field of cooperatives.

NSAC Members may register for CLNs without charge while non-members may participate for a nominal fee.

Individuals or groups are able to participate in these online courses from the convenience of their own space using their own device and immediately put what they’ve learned to work for their organization.

Review the following list of upcoming CLNs and register today!

Financial Forecasting

Date: Thursday, October 28, 2021
Time: 11:00 AM EST / 10:00 AM CST / 09:00 AM MST / 08:00 AM PST
Presenter(s): Lawrence G. Andrews, MBA CTP Vice President, Corporate Services, Rappahannock Electric Cooperative; Pat Kanda, Finance Manager, Grand Valley Power
Moderator(s): Bill Erlenbush, CPA, NSAC Director of Education
Objective:
-Identify key information required to prepare a financial forecast.
-Identify possible tools (software) to use in preparing a financial forecast.
-Identify validation steps for a financial forecast.
Field of Study: Finance
Program Level: Basic
CPE Credit: 1 Credit Hour

No advanced preparation or prerequisites are required for this course.
  More Information   Online Registration

Tax Director Duties for Ag Coops: What Does a Tax Director Do?

Date: Monday, November 01, 2021
Time: 11:00 AM EST / 10:00 AM CST / 09:00 AM MST / 08:00 AM PST
Presenter(s): Wayne Sine, CPA, MBA – Retired Tax Director
Moderator(s): Bill Erlenbush, CPA, NSAC Director of Education
Objective: • To understand the various duties of an Ag Coop Tax Director
• Participants will learn the specific types of taxes that are typically administered by in-house tax departments at Agricultural Coops
• Learn from the experiences and insights of a retired tax director with over 30 years of experience in Ag Coops
• Identify types of tax audits typically encountered by Ag Coops
• Learn when and how advocacy can be used to affect tax legislation impacting coops
Field of Study: Taxes
Program Level: Basic
CPE Credit: 1 Credit Hour

No advanced preparation or prerequisites are required for this course.
  More Information   Online Registration

Inside the Mind of an Auditor

Date: Tuesday, November 09, 2021
Time: 02:00 PM EST / 01:00 PM CST / 12:00 PM MST / 11:00 AM PST
Presenter(s): Camille Christensen, CPA, PMP, Partner and Erin Clayville, CPA, CFE, Director, Moss Adams, LLP
Moderator(s): Bill Erlenbush, CPA, NSAC Director of Education
Objective:
- Identify areas to strengthen monthly financial reporting
- Identify areas to strengthen internal control processes
- Identify opportunities to improve long-term planning strategies
Field of Study: Auditing
Program Level: Basic
CPE Credit: 1 Credit Hour

No advanced preparation or prerequisites are required for this course.
  More Information   Online Registration

Common Fraud Schemes Facing Small Businesses Today

Date: Tuesday, December 07, 2021
Time: 11:00 AM EST / 10:00 AM CST / 09:00 AM MST / 08:00 AM PST
Presenter(s): Jessica Yohe, CPA, CFE, Bauknight Pietras & Stormer
Moderator(s): Bill Erlenbush, CPA, NSAC Director of Education
Field of Study: Auditing
Program Level: Basic
CPE Credit: 1 Credit Hour

No advanced preparation or prerequisites are required for this course.
  More Information   Online Registration

Registration

All registration is done on-line and each registrant must provide their name and email address.

Fees and Payment Procedures

CLNs are free for all NSAC members. Non-members may register for a nominal fee. Non-members must pre-pay at the time of registration.

Delivery System

The National Society of Accountants for Cooperatives uses the Zoom platform for CLNs. Registrants will receive login instructions in advance by email and the virtual meeting room will open 15 minutes prior to the CLN start time. We recommend participants log-in 5-10 minutes prior to the start, allowing enough time to download and print any documents you wish to have available during the course presentation. It is recommended that you test your computer prior to attending a meeting. We use polling to verify active participation and you must use the Zoom app to submit poll responses. If you are unable to use the Zoom app, please contact us for an alternative arrangement prior to the start of the CLN.

Refund Policy

NSAC will not issue refunds for CLNs. If a registrant is unable to participate in the CLN and sends written notice to info@nsacoop.org 48 hours prior to the session, a credit will be provided for a future CLN. Alert the NSAC staff member monitoring the CLN if technical difficulties are encountered and technical support will be provided to eliminate problems with future CLNs.

Additional Information

Live participation is required for CPE credit and polling questions must be answered to document your active participation. All registrants will receive an email following the session with links to the slides and/or handouts, and a link to the CLN recording (unless otherwise stated). If you are unable to participate in the live session, you can still watch the recorded session, but you will not be eligible for CPE credits. Those eligible for credits will receive their certificate by email with 7 business days.

For more information regarding NSAC CLNs or administrative policies such as complaint and refund, contact the NSAC Headquarters at 937-222-6707, or info@nsacoop.org.